
The cost of the average first time DUI in Colorado was compiled by  
NoDUIColorado.org — an effort of the state’s Persistent Drunk Driver Committee.  

The PDD Committee conducts statewide public awareness about  
impaired driving and is comprised of the following agencies:

Colorado Department of Human Services, Office of Behavioral Health | Colorado  
Department of Transportation | Colorado Department of Revenue,  

Division of Motor Vehicles | Colorado Judicial Branch

Why A DUI Got More Expensive
Increase: 
$3,260

Detox/Jail $303 Victim Assistance Fund $163

Towing Fee $175 Victim Compensation Fund $29

Court Cost $26 Ignition Interlock Rental/Service $2,172

Car Storage Fee (per day) $49.20 Law Enforcement Assistance Fund $90

Defense Attorney (average) $3,650 License Reinstatement $95

Probation Alcohol/Drug Evaluation $200 Community Service Supervision Fee $60

Rural Alcohol & Substance Abuse Fund $5 Instruction permit $16.80

Alcohol/Drug Education/Treatment $1,000 Restricted License $26

Victim Impact Panel Program $50 PDD Surcharge Fee $300

First Conviction Fine $600 Brain Injury Fund Fee $20

Probation Supervision Fee $900 Auto Insurance Increase $3,600*

 (+32%)

Previous Average Cost 
of a First DUI in Colorado: 

$10,270
New Average Cost  

of a First DUI in Colorado:  

$13,530

What’s driving the increase?

COSTS ASSOCIATED WITH A FIRST DUI

 TOTAL $13,530
*Estimated for a driver age 
21-24 over a 5-year period 

IMPAIRED  
DRIVING CASES  
in Colorado (FY16): 22,219

The average impaired driver in  
Colorado now qualifies as  
a Persistent Drunk Driver: 

Time & Drinks needed  
for a 0.164 BAC: 

Statewide Average BAC (blood  
alcohol content) in DUI Cases (FY16)  
— more than twice the legal limit of .08

BAC Threshold to be considered  
a Persistent Drunk Driver (PDD)  
— even if it’s your first DUI. 

Amount of cost increase due  
to average DUI now being PDD.

0.164
0.15*
55%

Male 
185 lbs.

Female 
120 lbs.

5 drinks in  
2 hours

9 drinks in  
2 hours

*Drivers who refuse chemical testing or have two or more  
impaired driving offenses are also considered PDD

DUI & DWAI cases


